Skip to content ↓

Sylvia Young Theatre School

Full Time School



  • Leadership Team


    Principal Sylvia Young OBE
    Managing Director Alison Ruffelle            
    Headteacher Frances Chave BSc, PGCE, NPQH
    Deputy Head Laurence Kavanagh BA, PGCE, NPQSL
    Artistic Director Steven Baker
    Head of Music Ray Lamb         
    Business Manager 
    Maggie Melville 


  • Administrative Staff


    Finance Manager - Mr Peter Thornton 
    PA to Sylvia Young - Mrs Fiona Wightman

    Creative Assistant - Mr Chase Demmers
    School Office Manager - Mrs Christine Gatt
    School Receptionist - Mrs Ann Perkins
    Headteacher’s PA & Examinations Officer - Ms Gill Auty
    School Nurse - Miss Charlotte Baxter, RN(Child), BA

    Front of House receptionist - Mr Michael Nigro

    Reception - Mr Joseph Gatt 
    Reception - Mrs Michelle Rees
    Reception - Mr Daniel Dowling

    Office Admin - Miss Laura O’Brien
    Site Manager - Mr Steve Bell
    Assistant Caretaker - Mr James Dye

    Independent Catering - Miss Stacey Beckford
    Independent Catering
    Miss Sharon Embury
    Independent Catering  - Miss Heather Leigh
    Independent Catering  - Miss Ruth Palmer
    Independent Catering  - Mrs Jean Petrou
    Independent Catering  - Miss Yvonne Ng
    Independent Catering  - Ms Gladys Mensah
    Independent Catering  - Ms Anila Taranaj 
    Independent Catering  - Ms Vania Abano

    Lunchtime Supervisor - Mrs Muriel Wright, 
    Supervisor - Mrs Tina Bakal 
    Lunchtime Supervisor - Ms Kimberley Miller

    Supervisor/Cleaning - Ms Eleanor Dowling
    Supervisor/Cleaning - 
    Ms Janet Powell
    Supervisor/Cleaning - Ms Susan Bickerdike
    Supervisor/Cleaning - Mr David Russell
    Supervisor/Cleaning - Mrs Linda Russell

  • Academic Department


    Juniors/ Year 6 - Miss Rebecca Harrison B.Ed

    English - Ms Anna Cunningham  BA, PGCE

    English  - Ms Michelle van Ebo  BA, PGCE, RSA, MA

    English - Mr Charlie Smith BA, PGCE, QTS

    Mathematics  - Ms Rachel Kimber MA, BSc, PGCE, PG Dip (DYSL & LIT)

    Mathematics - Miss Georgina Taylor BA, QTS

    Science - Ms Menifa Williams BEng, PGCE

    Science  - Ms Rachel Gallimore BSc, PGCE

    Media Studies - Mrs Louise Nix BA, QTS

    Humanities - Mr Duncan Ferguson BA, MA, PGCE, FRAS

    Information Technology - Mrs Tina Oberman   Dip.M.Dip. Mus.(Open), PGCE.

    Art   - Ms Paula Sanders BA,  PGCE

    Art  - Ms Susannah Douglas BA, PGCE, MA

    Spanish - Ms Susana Martin Fernandez BA, PGCE

    Spanish  - Ms Stella Schito BA, MA, PGCE

    Drama (GCSE) - Miss Alison Waters BA, QTS

    SENCO / AEN - Ms Alison Golledge BA

    Learning Support Assistant - Ms Imogen Howarth




  • Vocational Department


    Acro (After school activity) - Mr Peter Pearson

    Ballet - Mr Michell Da Silva
    Ballet - Ms Kelly Hopkins ARAD dip LISTD 
    Ballet - Ms Lucy Middleton AISTD
    Ballet - Miss Lisa-Marie Probert
    Ballet - Mr James Butcher

    Ballet Pianist - Mr Ben Summers
    Ballet Pianist - Eli Welsh
    Ballet Pianist - Andrew Wass

    Contemporary Dance - Ms Dorna Peters PA. Dip.  Professional Choreographer

    Drama - Mr Simon Rawlings
    Drama - Ms Norma Atallah 
    Drama - Mr Michael Palmer
    Drama - Mr Bryn Williams OAM, B Ed. Dip. Acting 
    Drama - Ms Georgia Fitch

    Jazz - Ms Lindsey Eaton AISTD
    Jazz - Mr Sonny Ward Dip. Musical Theatre
    Jazz - Mr Lee Crowley AISTD
    Jazz - Ms Bethany Hague

    Singing - Mr Gary Jerry BA  Dip LCM
    Singing - Mr Isaac McCollough
    Singing - Mr Daniel Brady Dip ABRSM, BA Hons, PGCE
    Singing - Mr Eoin Mallon BA (Hons), LTCL Dip, ALCM Dip (P/TD)
    Singing - Mr Mike Turnbull
    Singing - Mr Fred Feeney

    Tap - Miss Bethany Hague
    Tap - Mr Joel Montague
    Tap - Mr George Beet
    Tap - Ms Dorna Peters PA. Dip.
    Tap - Ms Sara Bispham

    Voice & Speech - Mrs Nevena Holmes
    Vocie & Speech - Mrs Elizabeth Slater RAM, LLAM